The five laws of information management

A brief update of sorts, I’ve started blogging about information management over at

In 1931 the librarian S.R. Ranganathan published ‘The Five Laws of Library Science’, a set of core tenets which contributed to the foundation of modern librarianship. These five laws were remarkably prescient and are as relevant to libraries today as they were last century. This article introduces an adaptation of the five laws to define the fundamental principles of information management.


As a testament to their ongoing value, Ranganathan’s five laws are still widely taught, or at least discussed, in postgraduate librarianship courses around the world. The laws describe a philosophy of how library services should be managed with respect to the library clients (readers) and information objects (books). The Five Laws of Library Science are:

  1. Books are for use
  2. Every reader his (or her) book
  3. Every book its reader
  4. Save the time of the reader
  5. The library is a growing organism

This article won’t delve any further into library…

View original post 713 more words

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s